Friends at Beloit Library (FABL)

Friends at Beloit Library (FABL) was established in 1978 to provide advocacy and financial support to Beloit Public Library and to provide a way for the public to participate in supporting library services. FABL raises funds through the sale of donated books and withdrawn library books at the ongoing book sale in the lobby of the library. In addition to the ongoing book sale, FABL has regularly scheduled warehouse sales open to the public. FABL also sells book bags, ear buds, and flash drives at the library’s check-out desk. FABL’s financial support enables library staff to initiate programs that would not be covered by public funding.

Become a Member

You can support FABL by becoming an annual member. Individual memberships are $15, family memberships are $25. Make checks payable to Friends at Beloit Library with your name, address, phone, and email, and send to Beloit Public Library, 605 Eclipse Blvd., Beloit, WI 53511. Members will receive FABL e-newsletters and notices of special events including the Annual Meeting & Program in May.


FABL has a very active group of volunteers and welcomes you to join them. Tasks include pricing and organizing donated books in the FABL workroom, displaying books at the ongoing sale, staffing the warehouse sales, assisting with library programs, promoting FABL and BPL, serving on the FABL Board. To volunteer, contact any FABL member, call the FABL workroom at 608-364-5770, or email

Donate Books

The public is encouraged to donate items at any time at the library’s check-out desk. The Friends at Beloit Library has 501(c)(3) status. We accept gently used hardcover or paperback books, DVDs, Blu-rays, VHS tapes, and CDs. We do not accept moldy, damp, or smoke-damaged materials. We are unable to accept magazines, encyclopedias, Reader’s Digest Condensed Books, records, cassettes, or hymnals.

FABL Friends At Beloit LIbrary Logo

FABL Board Members

President: Karen Arft
Vice President: Kay Clark
Secretary: Patricia Krause
Treasurer: Pat Blum

Jeanne Chernik-Krueger
Marge Fizzell
Jane Fossum
Sherry Geiger
Mary Howland
Betty Magnus
Tim Scholten
Gloria Squires

Library Board Representative: 
Library Director: Nick Dimassis

Translate »